Globo warns Turner on Brasileirão’s TV broadcasting rights

The Brazilian Football Confederation (CBF) published the schedule for the first 10 fixture dates of the ‘Brasileirão’, name under which the Brazilian Professional Football League is known, together with the days, times and channels that will broadcast each match of the competition. That same day, Globo sent a notification to Turner, where it reports that the new Provisional Measure (PM) N° 984, which changes the rules on agreements and sports rights in Brazil, will not be able to modify any TV rights agreement that has been ran before the new measure was published. On the contrary, Globo could present legal actions against Turner.

As officially reported by CBF, channels in charge of broadcasting the Brasileirão matches will be TV Globo, SporTV and Premiere (Globo) and TNT (Turner). Following the new PM N° 984, some of the matches selected by Turner violate the exclusivity agreement that Globo had signed with part of the Brazilian football clubs for the competition. The new measure modifies the regulations related to TV rights for sports broadcasts, and gives the local team the rights to televise each match. However, the PM does not clarify what happens with the agreements signed earlier.

On Pay TV, Turner owns the rights to eight clubs of the championship, and the rest of the clubs, with the exception of Bragantino, have signed an agreement with Globo. For FTA TV and for premium and PPV (Pay Per View) models, Globo has ran agreements with all the teams, except from Athletico Paranaense on FTA TV and Bragantino for FTA TV, premium and PPV.

According to the information reported by the Brazilian website Telaviva, the Globo notification was sent to Turner, CBF and the Athletico Paranaense; Esporte Clube Bahia; Ceara Sporting Clube; Coritiba Football Club; Esporte Clube Fortaleza; International Sport Club; Sociedad Esportiva Palmeiras and Santos Futebol Clube.

The next edition of Brasileirão will start next Saturday, August 8th, with the match between Fortaleza and Atletico Paranaense at the Castelão Stadium, located in Fortaleza.