Peru expands DTT reach

The president of Peru, Martín Vizcarra, along with other national authorities, participated last week in the launch of digital terrestrial TV transmissions in Piura. Simultaneously, the DTT service also reached the cities of Trujillo, Arequipa, Cusco, Huancayo and Huánuco. All these cities are part of the Territory II of the Master Plan for the implementation of DTT.
According to the Ministry of Transport and Communications, currently in Piura there are nine DTT channels, benefiting more than 579,000 citizens of towns of Castilla, Catacaos, Cura Mori, La Arena and Veintiséis de Octubre.
“Right now we have DTT not only in Lima and Callao, but also in the cities of Arequipa, Cusco, Chiclayo, Trujillo, Piura and Huancayo. The changes made to the master plan establish a deadline for at least the most important city in each of the country’s regions to have TDT coverage by 2022, and that the analogue switch-off takes place in a staggered manner starting from 2020,” said the Vice Minister of Communications Virginia Nakagawa.
In July, the ministry published a resolution that obliges TV set marketers to place a label on those devices that do not receive DTT channels.