NCA awards eight entities the authorization for DTT free-to-air channels

The National Communications Authority (NCA) has made the news official after evaluations of the applications received on January 30 this year. The authority has selected eight entities to award them the Digital Terrestrial Television Free-To-Air Programme Channel Authorisations in Ghana.

Twelve applications were received for the national coverage and four applications were received for the regional coverage in the region of Ashanti, Greater Accra, Northern and Volta. Among the eight entities awarded, four of them will provide national coverage while the other four will provide regional coverage.

Entities to provide national coverage are comprised of Multimedia Group, Kessben Television, Mobile Zone Limited and Notice Board Limited. Royal Image Broadcasting Limited, OTV Broadcasting Limited, Kyirfo Multimedia Broadcasting Limited and Tony D. Company Limited will be providing regional coverage for Ashanti, Greater Accra, Northern and Volta, respectively.

With this new development, the number of television stations licensed by the NCA for national coverage amounts to 29. According to NCA, successful applicants have a period of 60 days for the validation of their Provisional Authorisations. This is done by paying the required Authorisation fees. On the other hand, applicants who did not succeed can apply for any of the region where no applications were received.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Print this pageEmail this to someone