Kenyan FTA channels on DTT platform reduced to 60

image (5)

The number of Kenyan free-to-air television channels on the digital terrestrial platform fell to 60 from 66 at the end of December 2016. The Communications Authority of Kenya (CA) said the financials constraints hitting the six television channels are the main cause of this problem.

Digital migration ended in March 2015 but has left some areas without reception. Statistics from the CA at the end of March indicated that Nairobi, Mombasa and Kisumu alongside 41 other towns and their surroundings can receive the digital television signal. This aided the digital TV signal to increase to 75 percent of the Kenyan population. 

CA says: “The cumulative number of digital Set Free-to-Air Top Boxes (FTA STBs) purchased as at the end of the quarter under review increased to 725,205 from 722,196 representing an insignificant growth of 0.4 per cent while PAY TV rose to 3,742,504 from 3,534,086.”

The number of pay TV service providers on the digital terrestrial television platform remains at two, comprising GoTV and StarTimes.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Print this pageEmail this to someone