Digital TV migration to hit South Africa’s Free state

South Africa’s Free State province is lined up for the switch over from analogue to digital terrestrial television (DTT). The government’s communication department said the distribution of set-top-boxes, at a subsidised price, to communities in the Free State will come after the DTT awareness and registration campaigns. The campaigns started on the 7th of August in the district municipalities of Lejweleputswa, Matjhabeng, Nala, Tswelopele, Tokologo and Masilonya.

The communications department will work alongside the South African Post Office to reach out to communities and for the distribution of the subsidised television decoders (STBs) to qualifying households.

It said “The department is now enlisting the support of provincial and Government to encourage qualifying residents to register for this benefit. To qualify for these Government-subsidised decoders, television viewing households must be earning less than ZAR3,200 per month.” The Government committed to giving out 5 million subsidised STBs to low income households which own a television. 

The department has deployed resources to implement the DTT, attempting to meet the revised December 2018 deadline and to once and for all, switch off the analogue broadcast.