DAS IV to cover 61.08M TV households by end of 2016

The Ministry of Information and Broadcasting (MIB) has announced, grounded on the 2011 Census report that the ultimate phase of digital addressable system (DAS) will encompass an approximate number of 61.08 million TV households, comprising of 28 states and 6 Union Territories. By the end of this year, DAS Phase IV will have to be completed in the rural areas of the country.


Among the countries to be covered by DAS phase IV, Tamil Nadu has highest number of TV homes, making a total of 8.15 million to be digitised in the Southern state. This is followed by the Andhra Pradesh and Telangana, the Telugu-speaking states. The two mentioned countries represent the second biggest area to be covered with 7.6 million TV households to be digitised.


The other states included are Kerala with 4.77 million TV households whilst Karnataka has 3.8 million. Out of the 61.08 million TV homes to be digitised under the DAS phase IV, 24.32 million is comprised mainly of the five Southern states. Other states are made up Maharashtra and West Bengal totalling an amount of 4.92million and 3.86 million respectively while the Uttar Pradesh has a number of 5.99 million TV households to be digitised in the DAS phase IV.


On the other hand, Assam, Bihar and Odisha has over a million TV homes left to be digitised alongside Punjab, Gujarat, Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh with 2.73 million, 2.72 million, 2.56 million and 2.21 million TV homes respectively.