Argentina to deploy 15 new DTT towers this year

The president of the telecommunications company Arsat, Rodrigo de Loredo, said that the company will deploy 15 new DTT towers this year, which will cover more than three million people.

According to the executive, 14 of the new towers will offer terrestrial digital TV services for the first time in more than 40 locations. This way, more than one million people will be able to access the Digital Public Content system offered by the government. The remaining tower (located in Cordoba) will seek to reinforce the signal that citizens already receive from another one.

For this project, Arsat will make an important investment in infrastructure. The towers will be inaugurated in the cities of Victoria (Entre Ríos); Ituzaingó (Corrientes); Córdoba (Córdoba); Corrientes (Corrientes); Mainqué (Río Negro); Mar de Ajó (Buenos Aires); Tartagal (Salta); Río Tercero (Córdoba); Roque Sáenz Peña (Chaco); Puerto Iguazú (Misiones); Orán (Salta); Oberá (Misiones); Rio Grande (Tierra del Fuego); Chilecito (La Rioja) and Laboulaye (Córdoba). In addition, a new tower will be deployed in the province of Jujuy in a city to be defined.

De Loredo said that some of the towers are “ready to be inaugurated, the work is practically finished to begin operations, and the rest will start broadcasting over the course of the year.”